It’s spring and while some people are cleaning out their yards or garage, geocachers are out checking on caches to see how they survived the winter.  When you hide a cache to go on the geocaching.com network there is a level of commitment involved in checking on it and making sure it is dry, hidden properly, and not causing any damage to the surrounding area.
I have 8 caches hidden.  Yesterday the snow finally melted and I headed out to check on my geocaches.  I’d had some reports in the logs that things were missing or damaged.
Flip for Baker logs:
I went prepared with new cache containers, new log sheets, new pencils, and my GPS to check co-ordinates.
I had reports that one of my micro caches (about the size of your little finger just had a log sheet, but no container, sure enough, I found the log, very wet from the recent snow. I replaced the log and container and tucked it back where it belonged.
I had to replace a few more full logs, and several caches were just fine (they must have been good hides in the first place!)
When I got to the cache Saskatchewan it was completely gone, but I had my new tennis ball cache ready to go. I hid it in the lower branches of the tree so a “muggle” would think it was just a ball caught in the tree if they spotted it, but a geocacher would have a second look at it.
My last cache of the day was Flip for Baker which had several logs posted that no one could find it. I had a new cache, a plastic lock and lock container covered in camouflage duct tape (you can find it in the hunting and fishing section of hardware stores!), ready to go. When I got there, to my surprise, it was right where it should be. I had set the co-ordinates on a cloudy day, and I think this was sending people off in the wrong direction. I marked the cache, uploaded new co-ordinates, and it was found almost immediately!
Geocaching is a great hobby, but remember if you hide a cache take care of it or it just turns into litter.  Happy caching!
