P1000718
My experiences in Brazil have been both exhausting and energizing all at the same time. 9 days of travel, learning, meeting new people, and sharing has been a fantastic opportunity.
P1000640
We spent our first two days in Sao Paulo bonding as a Canadian team and seeing one of the largest cities in the world. It has more that 19 million people. We saw the main cathedral, soccer stadium, market, as well as a poor neighbourhood and a very affluent one. It was a striking contrast. In my travels I have seen poverty before, and it was such a quick moment that it was hard to process. One of the best things I always get out of traveling is an appreciation for how lucky I am and a desire to help others. I was getting a bit burnt out from spending several summers in Dominica, and I forget how important it is to give back. I’m re-energized to not only teach my students, but to teach in the Caribbean again this summer.
P1000837
Then it was on to Salvador. We had one day to shop, explore the city, and go to the beach as other conference attendees started to arrive. It was great to start to meet and share with innovative educators and schools from around the world.
P1000746
The innovative school track presented first, then it was our turn to set up. We brought our bright, colourful poster, and our bright, colourful personalities, but it wasn’t meant to be. We didn’t advance, but there was some fantastic projects that did. I was impressed with the variety and creativity that were showcased.
P1000884
After the innovative teacher showcase we had three days of presentations and collaboration time. I enjoyed the opportunity to work with educators from around the globe to develop innovative projects to be shared on the Partners in Learning Network. I worked with a group from Azerbaijan, Germany, Thailand, the Philippines, Bulgaria, and Slovakia. The different perspectives were challenging, but we came together to produce a great project.  Our project centers around culture and how each country defines their culture.  Check out our project here.  If you would like to be a part of it, let me know.  The more perspectives on culture that we have, the better.
 I made two Animoto videos, the second is better but they are both fun:
Video 1Video 2
