When I geocache with my class, I always try to keep it fresh and interesting to keep them from getting bored, or the activity from getting stale.  One of the best ways is to use interesting and unique geocaching containers.  Here are a few I use, I plan to use, and that I’ve seen in my caching experiences:

1) Camo Tape – I love camo tape – it hides just about anything in a bush. My students have threatened to hide my camo tape!
P1000383P1000387
2) Magnetic Anything – I like the hide a keys, or magnets attached to a micro. Magnetic caches are great in the school yard for hiding caches on playground equipment.
P1000359P1000360
3) Caching Critters – These caches are now around Lethbridge and I can’t wait to use the idea with my kids. They could even be tied to curriculum – have Arctic animals for my arctic unit. Thanks to Geokid for this great idea.
critter2Critter1
4) Nut and Bolt – very clever caches. The inside is hollowed out leaving space for a small log or clue. Picture from www.crazycaches.com
bolt2
5) The Log – looks like a log, smells like a log, is a log, with a secret! Thanks to yantski for this great idea.
P1000368P1000366
6) The Rock – I love my fake rock cache. My students have actually picked it up to throw it when they have been frustrated only to find the truth… My fake rock is locked in the school where all the floors are being replaced, so this fake rock is courtesy of gidget_to.
P1000376P1000378P1000379
7) Outlet Switch Cover/In a hole (Any clever disguise)- Another very clever idea I’ve adapted to the school yard. A little spray paint to match playground equipment and you have a very hard to find cache. Thanks to Pinky and Mr. Clean for the outlet cover idea and harley hunters for the unique rebar cache.
P1000351P1000353
8 ) Bark – a waterproof match container, or a film cannister, a glue gun, and some bark. Although it was my crafty ways that made this cache, I got the idea from Darkmoon Evil I started with an orange waterproof match container, spray painted it green, then hot glued bark on. The lid even still opens.
P1000388P1000392P1000391
9) Sprinkler Head/Drain – Darkmoon Evil has a great drain cache in his photo set, but this sprinkler cache is by goodkid. I’m raiding my dad’s garage this summer to find something similar to make for my kids for next year!
P1000356P1000357
10) Balls – Hollowed out golf balls, tennis balls, and even the old playground balls that don’t hold air anymore. Kids never think to look at something that is usually just laying around. Beware of these caches being muggled by puppy dogs. The tennis ball was easy to make, I’m still pondering on how to turn a golf ball into a cache, but I think it may take a dremmel, half a film canister, and several golf balls to experiment with.
P1000349P1000350
